NH DWI/DUI Attorneys
Our New Hampshire DWI & DUI Lawyers will work hard to prevent, reduce or dismiss your charges.
If you have been arrested for drunk driving, driving while intoxicated, driving under the influence, DWI or DUI, you need the legal advice and assistance of an experienced New Hampshire DWI Lawyer or DWI Attorney. Drunk driving laws have changed dramatically and are very strict. You are facing potential jail time and driver’s license suspension. You need the advice of an experienced and aggressive New Hampshire DWI Lawyer immediately to begin protecting your rights and save your NH driver’s license privileges. Contact us today to schedule a free consultation, (603) 934-9837. You can also fill out the form on the left and we will contact you as soon as possible.
DWI/DUI Frequently Asked Questions
What Happens When You Get a DUI in New Hampshire?
Driving while under the influence is extremely dangerous, and comes with several serious consequences. In New Hampshire, you can be arrested for DUI if your blood alcohol concentration (BAC) is 0.08 or higher, or under the age of 21, .02 or more. You can also be arrested for DWI/DUI for being under the influence of intoxicating liquor or any controlled drug, prescription drug, over the counter drug, or any other chemical substance, natural or synthetic, which impairs a person’s ability to drive or any combination of intoxicating liquor and controlled drugs, prescription drugs, over the counter drugs, or any other chemical substances, natural or synthetic, which impair your ability to drive. Navigating the legal process after being charged with a DUI/DWI can be complicated. The laws surrounding a DUI/DWI charge in New Hampshire are very strict, so it is important to know what steps to take immediately following your arrest. Learn More.
What are the Common DWI/DUI Charges?
- DWI (first offense) – Class B Misdemeanor: Requires a .08% blood alcohol level, and/or impairment to any degree from alcohol and/or drugs.
- Aggravated DWI – Class A Misdemeanor: Requires a .16% blood alcohol level (or other factors such as excessive speed, and attempts to elude police while under the influence of alcohol, or having a passenger who is a minor).
- DWI, 2nd, or subsequent offense – Class A Misdemeanor: Requires a prior conviction of DWI within the last 10 years.
- Felony Aggravated DWI: Typically an accident resulting with serious bodily injury, or many prior convictions.
Can I Refuse to Take the Breathalyzer in New Hampshire?
New Hampshire requires you to take a blood, urine or breath test if you are arrested for a DUI. New Hampshire’s “implied consent” law states that if you have been arrested for an alcohol or drug related offense involving the use of a vehicle you must take a chemical test upon being arrested.
Are There Any Penalties for Refusing to Take the Test?
Yes. After your arrest, the officer should warn you that your license will be suspended upon refusal to take a chemical test. Your first refusal will result in a 180 day suspension of your driver’s license, your second and third offenses or a prior refusal will result in a two year suspension of your license. You cannot be forced to take the test, however if there was injury or death during the incident that caused you to be arrested, the officer can order that you take a test. In addition, if someone is unconscious or dead, a chemical test may be administered.
What Should I Do If I’ve Been Charged with a DWI in New Hampshire?
The best advice is to contact a knowledgeable New Hampshire DUI attorney. Because there are many variables in DUI cases, having an attorney by your side is beneficial. DUI convictions have serious, long-term consequences. This is especially the case if your incident involved injury or death, or if this is your second or third DUI offense. A skilled New Hampshire DUI lawyer understands the law and can help you navigate the process through the courts as well as DMV. Seufert Law Office can help you:
- Not only represent you in court, but also challenge any license suspensions by the NH DMV.
- Arrange for additional lab testing of your breath or blood sample that was seized by the police by an accredited independent laboratory.
- Use our years of knowledge to identify all issues related to your arrest.
Consult with an NH DWI/DUI Attorney Today
Our team of dedicated DWI defense attorneys is here to provide you with expert legal guidance and support if you’re facing charges related to driving while intoxicated (DWI). Whether you have questions about your case, need strategic advice, or are ready to take proactive steps to protect your rights, please fill out the contact form below. We are committed to helping you navigate the complexities of DWI law and securing the best possible outcome for your situation. Connect with a New Hampshire DWI defense attorney today, and let us work together to protect your legal future and driving privileges.
- Visit Our Library
Browse through the many publications that we have amassed over the years. This is a great place to educate yourself in the many areas that we specialize in. Some of the publications may help you determine that you in fact don’t need a lawyer and some will prove that you do.
- Four Common DWI/DUI Charges
Review four common DWI/DUI charges and what they mean.
- Review Some of Our Case Files
Learn about some of our landmark cases and how we have helped people like you. We have been involved with many cases that have created a legal precedent and these cases illustrate our commitment and diligence to our clients.
- Meet Our Attorneys
Get to know our attorneys and discover how they will help you get the justice you deserve. Learn what each of us specializes in and how we can help you.